University of Utah - Department of Geology and Geophysics

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The faculty of the Department of Geology and Geophysics includes 22 regular (tenure-track) professors and 11 research professors, with specialties spanning the entire spectrum of the earth sciences. The Department has 136 undergraduates.  There are 38 students in the Masters Program and 28 students in the PhD program. Women comprise 37% of the students in the Department. Students routinely serve on departmental committees and participate in the governance of the Department. Close association between students and faculty enhances instructional and research activities.

Source: Department Website July 2010

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Geology and Geophysics
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology, Economic Geology, Geomorphology, Geophysics, Hydrogeology, Paleobiology, Petroleum Geology, Seismology, Stratigraphy and Sedimentology
  • Degrees: BS, MS, PhD
  • State: Utah
  • City: Salt Lake City
  • Phone: (801) 581-7062