University of Texas - San Antonio - Department of Geological Sciences

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Department of Geological Sciences at The University of Texas at San Antonio is growing, with new students, faculty members, and equipment. Our degree programs provide students with a variety of educational opportunities that will prepare them for employment and/or graduate school. Courses incorporate the latest technology, information, and research techniques available, and provide practical field experience along with classroom instruction. We offer the BS, BA, and MS degree in Geology, and minor in Geology; and a BS degree in Multidisciplinary Studies, a certification in Geographical Information Science. The department pursues research and teaching in the key areas of hydrogeology (water resources, aqueous geochemistry), geobiology (paleontology and geomicrobiology), geoinformatics (geospatial analysis, GIS, remote sensing), petroleum geology and paleontology, and land dynamics (geomorphology, environmental geology, sedimentology).

Source: Department Website July 2010

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Geological Sciences
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology, Hydrogeology, Hydrology
  • Degrees: Certificate, BA, BS, MS
  • State: Texas
  • City: San Antonio
  • Phone: (210) 458-4455