University of South Alabama - Department of Earth Sciences

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The Department of Earth Sciences includes the disciplines of Geography, Geology, and Meteorology, and it offers a B.S. degree as well as a minor in each of these three majors. Students can also earn a GIS Certificate.

In the Department of Earth Sciences, special attention is given to biogegraphy, climatology, cultural geography, economic geography, environmenal geography, historical geography, meteorology, soil geography, and urban geography.

Key subject areas in the USA geology program include mineralogy, petrology, paleontology, environmental geology, structural geology, stratigraphy and geophysics. USA Graduates are well prepared for careers in petroleum exploration, economic mineral exploration, hydrogeology, coastal sedimentology/management, GIS/Planning, or for graduate studies in any or all of these areas.

Source: Department Website August 2010

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Earth Sciences
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geography
  • Degrees: Certificate, BS
  • State: Alabama
  • City: Mobile
  • Phone: (251) 460-6381