University of Nevada - Reno - Department of Geological Sciences & Engineering

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Department of Geological Sciences and Engineering consists of 26 full-time teaching and research faculty. Several faculty hold joint appointments with the Seismological Laboratory. We also have 27 cooperating faculty from the Desert Research Institute, Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology and the U.S. Geological Survey. Cooperative teaching, equipment sharing and research programs also exist with the Center for Neotectonic Studies, the Ralph J. Roberts Center for Research in Economic Geology and the Arthur Brant Laboratory for Exploration Geophysics (all at the University of Nevada, Reno), the department of geoscience at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, as well as with the Desert Research Institute.

Bachelor of science, master of science, and Ph.D. degrees are offered in: geology, geological engineering, geophysics and hydrogeology (graduate degrees in hydrogeology are offered through hydrologic sciences). Master of science and Ph.D. degrees are also offered in geochemistry.

Currently, more than 200 students are enrolled in all programs. Within the various degree programs, students may take more than 30 undergraduate and 30 graduate courses related to geological science and engineering. These courses are offered by departmental faculty. 

Source: Department Website July 2010

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Geological Sciences & Engineering
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology, Economic Geology, Geochemistry, Geomorphology, Geophysics, Hydrogeology, Structure and Tectonics, Mineralogy, Petrology, Seismology, Stratigraphy and Sedimentology, Volcanology
  • Degrees: BS, MS, PhD
  • State: Arizona
  • City: Reno
  • Phone: (775) 784-6050