University of Kansas - Department of Geology

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The graduate program of the Department of Geology involves 17 full-, part-time, or active emeritus faculty members, 12 adjunct faculty members, 3 research faculty, and some 50 graduate students from all parts of the country and several foreign countries. These numbers allow a great deal of student-faculty interaction in teaching and research. Both M.S. and Ph.D. degrees are awarded. The Department has been quite successful in placing its graduates in academia and industry. The Department has close ties with a number of research units that are a part of The University, including the  Kansas Geological Survey, the Paleontological Institute, the Natural History Museum, the Water Resources Center, the Energy Research Center, the Tertiary Oil Recovery Project, and the Center for Research, Inc. In addition, some students and faculty members work closely with the Water Resources Division of the U. S. Geological Survey, a branch of which is located in Lawrence, Kansas.

Source: Department Website July 2010

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Geology
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology, Geophysics, Glaciology, Hydrogeology, Structure and Tectonics, Paleontology, Stratigraphy and Sedimentology
  • Degrees: BA, BS, MS, PhD
  • State: Kansas
  • City: Lawrence
  • Phone: (785) 864-4974