Tennessee Technological University - Department of Earth Sciences

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Department of Earth Sciences offers a BS degree in geosciences with four possible concentrations (geology, environmental geology, geographic information systems (GIS), and geography). The department consists of seven full-time faculty and three adjunct faculty with specializations in mineralogy/petrology, structural geology and tectonics, field geology, paleontology, sedimentation/stratigraphy, GIS/remote sensing, geomorphology, meteorology, and hydrogeology. The faculty is student-oriented and works closely with geology majors.

The curriculum emphasizes both theoretical and applied geology. Graduates of our program are well-prepared to enter graduate school or to seek career employment in the geosciences. The department offers modern laboratory equipment and instructional aids to assist in the study of the geosciences.

Source: Department Website August 2016

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Earth Sciences
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology
  • Degrees: BS
  • State: Tennessee
  • City: Cookeville
  • Phone: (931) 372-3121