Saint Louis University - Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences has a tradition of combining strong classroom and field-based instruction with internationally recognized research across a broad spectrum of the physical sciences, including seismology and solid earth geophysics, tectonics, synoptic meteorology, environmental systems, and the study of modern and ancient climate change. We offer degrees in Environmental Science, Environmental Studies, Geology, Geophysics, and Meteorology.  Although growing, we are small enough to provide a warm, collegial atmosphere that promotes extensive interaction between students and faculty. Our students also have the opportunity to work directly with faculty on their research and pursue internships through our growing network of contacts in the public and private sector.

Our department is the result of a rich heritage that includes the first geophysics department in the western hemisphere, and as such, we offer a wide range of undergraduate and graduate degree programs. These programs include more traditional, internationally recognized doctoral programs to innovative new undergraduate programs that provide unique, campus-wide learning experiences. Our research centers include the Earthquake Center, the Cooperative Institute for Precipitation Systems, the Global Geodynamics Program, the Center for Environmental Sciences, and Quantum WeatherTM.

Source: Department Homepage, July 2015

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology, Geophysics, Seismology
  • Degrees: BA, BS, MS, PhD
  • State: Missouri
  • City: St. Louis
  • Phone: (314) 977-3116