Rice University - Department of Earth Science

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The Rice Earth Science Department has 17 professors with 16 adjunct professors from the local energy industry and space science community. The department includes 13 post docs and staff scientists, 40 graduate students, 22 undergraduate majors, and 14 administrative and technical staff. Research topics include the evolution of Venus, Mars and the Moon, the Earth's core, mantle, crust, hydrosphere, cryosphere, and atmosphere, climate change and paleoclimate, and the genesis and migration of hydrocarbons.

Department focus areas include the structure and evolution of the continental lithosphere (Earth Structure and Dynamics), the past and present evolution of the Earth's climate, surface, and environment (Earth System Science), and the physics and chemistry of fluid flow and rock-fluid interactions (Environment and Energy Resources).

We pride ourselves on having strong connections to NASA, the Lunar Planetary Institute, and the Houston energy industry as well as having a creative and dynamic faculty pursuing fundamental questions about the Earth and our environment. 

Source: Department Website July 2010

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Earth Science
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology, Geochemistry, Hydrogeology, Hydrology, Structure and Tectonics, Petrology, Seismology, Stratigraphy and Sedimentology, Volcanology
  • Degrees: BS, MS, PhD
  • State: Texas
  • City: Houston
  • Phone: (713) 348-4880