Murray State University - Department of Geosciences

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The undergraduate and graduate degrees offered by the Department of Geosciences are strongly supported by course work that focuses upon spatial technologies as they relate to earth science, geoarchaeology, geographic information science and environmental geology.  Geoscience students are offered opportunities to conduct research, become familiar with the most modern equipment, gain field experience, and participate in internships that make them uniquely qualified for professional careers in the public and private sectors or for entry into Masters or Ph.D. programs.

The Geosciences program offers options in earth science, earth science secondary education, geoarchaeology, geographic information science, and environmental geology.  The Area includes core courses taken by all options and courses specific to each discipline. Students enrolled in this program do not need a minor course of study.  The Department does, however, offer minors in anthropology, archaeology, earth science, geographic information science, environmental geology and social science that are often taken by students majoring in other disciplines.    

The Masters in Geoscience offers the thesis and non-thesis options.  The degree focuses upon remote sensing, digital image processing, geographic information systems and archaeological information systems as applied to areas of study in the department and beyond.  Graduate students work closely with faculty on research projects and grants that provide valuable practical experiences that enhance employment opportunities or support continued graduate education.

Source: Department Website August 2010

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Geosciences
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology
  • Degrees: BS, MS
  • State: Kentucky
  • City: Murray
  • Phone: (270) 809-2591