Mississippi State University - Department of Geosciences

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The Department of Geosciences provides fundamental education in geosciences for all students at MSU and specialized education for those students who specifically major and/or minor in Geosciences (BSc and MSc degrees) and Earth and Atmospheric Sciences (PhD degrees). Additionally, the department assumes the role of conducting applied and basic research that leads to deeper understanding of the nature of the earth sciences in Mississippi, the southern U.S. in particular, and more generally leads to an understanding of the integrated nature of earth systems for the whole earth. Furthermore, the department takes seriously its responsibility for providing service to the citizenry of Mississippi by responding to requests for information within the areas of expertise of the faculty and leveraging informal educational opportunities.

The Department of Geosciences currently has 16 tenure-track faculty and 7 full-time instructors and offers B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees. Within Geosciences there are 4 areas of emphasis: Professional Geology, Environmental Geosciences, Geography/Geospatial Sciences, and Meteorology/Climatology.

Source: Department Website August 2016

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Geosciences
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geography, Environmental Geography, Geographic Information Systems, Geomatics, Spatial Analysis, Climatology and Meteorology, Geology, Economic Geology, Environmental Geology, Hydrology, Petroleum Geology
  • Degrees: BS, MS, PhD
  • State: Mississippi
  • City: Starkville
  • Phone: (662) 325-3915