Kent State University - Department of Geology

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Department of Geology at Kent State University offers four-year programs leading to the Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Arts degrees in Geology as well as the Bachelor of Arts in Earth Science. Students can also pursue graduate study leading to the M.S. and Ph.D.  degrees in Geology. The atmosphere within the department is personalized and informal with major emphasis placed on teaching as well as on research. Most undergraduate major classes are small (10-30 students). Close faculty-student relationships are established by participation in various field trips and several annual student-faculty social events, including the fall picnic and the spring banquet.

Source: Department Website July 2010

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Department of Geology
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology, Hydrology, Structure and Tectonics, Paleontology, Petrology
  • Degrees: BA, BS, MS, PhD
  • State: Ohio
  • City: Kent
  • Phone: (330) 672-2680