Emporia State University - Earth Science Department

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Earth Science Department offers a variety of courses, programs and degrees, which include geology, physical geography, space and earth sciences. Undergraduate and Master's degrees are available, as well as teacher certification. An interdisciplinary minor in geospatial analysis (GSA) and a graduate certificate in geospatial analysis are offered. A minor in paleontology is also available.

The earth science department at Emporia State University offers a Master of Science degree in Physical Sciences with Earth Science  emphasis. This degree allows considerable flexibility for students to design individual programs within the framework of earth-system science. Students may select courses and research topics in geology, physical geography, environmental science, paleontology, remote sensing, geographic information systems, meteorology/climatology, hydrogeology or other areas of earth science (ES or GO courses).  The M.S. degree and graduate certificate in geospatial analysis (see below) are available for distance-learning students in the United States and abroad.

Source: Department Website July 2010

Additional Info

  • Department Name: Earth Science Department
  • Disciplines and Research Areas: Geology, Hydrogeology, Paleontology
  • Degrees: Certificate, BA, BS, MA, Online
  • State: Kansas
  • City: Emporia
  • Phone: (877) 468-6378